Bicycle & Pedestrian Safety

  1. Bicycle Laws
  2. Safety Tips for Pedestrians
  3. Safety Tips for Walking / Jogging
  4. Quick Links

Connecticut Bicycle Laws

  • Bicyclists Status: Traffic Laws apply to people riding bicycles. Bicyclists riding on a roadway are granted all of the rights and are subject to all of the duties applicable to the driver of a vehicle. (Connecticut General Statute (C.G.S.) 14-286a)
  • Lane Positioning: When riding on roadways, bicyclists are to ride as near the right side of the roadway as is safe, as judged by the bicyclist (C.G.S. 14-286b), except:
    1. When passing another vehicle proceeding in the same direction
    2. When preparing for a left turn
    3. When necessary to avoid hazardous conditions (fixed objects, pedestrians, etc.)
    4. When the lane is too narrow for a bicycle and motor vehicle to travel safely side by side within such lane
    5. Approaching an intersection with a right turn only lane, a bicyclist proceeding straight may ride on the left-hand side of such lane
    6. When riding on a one way street, the bicyclist may ride as near to the left side of the roadway as judged safe by the bicyclist
  • Riding two abreast: This is permitted as long as it does not impede the normal and reasonable movement of traffic. Riding more than two abreast is prohibited except on paths or roadway for the exclusive use of bicycles. (C.G.S. 14-286b)
  • Hand Signals: Bicyclists are required to give the same turn signals as motorists. Signals need not be given continuously. (C.G.S. 14-286)
  • Lights and other equipment on Bicycles: Bicyclists must use lights during the times and conditions that motor vehicle operators must use lights. When lighting is required, a front lamp, with a white light visible from at least 500 feet, and a rear reflector and side reflectors on both sides, visible from at least 600 feet, are required. A bicycle must have a brake that enables an operator to stop within 25 feet on dry, level, clean pavement from 10 miles per hour. (C.G.S. 14-288)
  • Two or More on a Bicycle: Bicycles shall not be used to carry more persons at one time than the number for which it is designed and equipped. (C.G.S. 14-286b)
  • Helmet: Those 15 years of age and under must wear a bike helmet. (C.G.S. 14-286d)
  • Vehicles Passing Bicycles: Safe passing distance means not less than 3 feet when the driver of a vehicle overtakes and passes a bicycle. (C.G.S. 14-232) Drivers should take to avoid turning right and impeding the travel of the bicyclist. A driver may pass a bicycle in a no passing zone if such overtaking and passing can be done safely. (C.G.S. 14-234)